Top listeners:

skip_previous skip_next
00:00 00:00
playlist_play chevron_left


Miller, Looser dominate MTB Marathon Championships

todayNovember 29, 2023 3

share close

Namibia’s international cyclists Alex Miller and Vera Looser emerged as the winners of the 2023 Nedbank Namibia National Marathon Championships (XCM) on Saturday, after impressive performances at the IJG Trails at Farm Windhoek.
For the first time in the Nedbank XCM championships, national titles were awarded in the e-bike category for elite men and women.
In the elite women’s XCM championships Looser, who had not raced at home since sustaining a hand fracture almost two months ago, made a noteworthy comeback. She secured victory in her category with a lead of over five minutes, completing the women’s race in two hours, 45 minutes, and 12 seconds (02:45:12).
Anri Krugel-Greeff claimed second place with a time of 02:50:53, while Nicola Fester secured the third spot with a time of 02:56:24.
In the men’s category, Miller dominated the elite men’s race, finishing over four minutes ahead of Xavier Papo. Miller completed the race in 02:16:31, with Papo securing second place in 02:30:27, and Simon Kaita claiming the third place with a time of 02:32:32.
In the e-bike category, Frank Klosta and Christine Steinfurth were crowned the inaugural champions for the men’s and women’s categories, respectively. Klosta won the elite men’s e-bike race in 02:12:36, ahead of Andre Steinfurth at 02:13:36, and Frederick Chuckmeister Van Greunen, who secured third place with a time of 02:25:33.
The elite women’s e-bike race was won by Steinfurth in 02:44:51, with Lionie Meyer claiming second place in 03:17:31.
Speaking during the awards ceremony, Namibia Cycling Federation president Axel Thiessen expressed satisfaction with the event’s success.
“For the first time in our history, we have crowned e-bike national champions. It was a slow start, as seen internationally, but we are hoping for improved participation next year,” he said.


Written by: Staff Writer

Rate it

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *